Tirreno Adriatico 2018, like a Grand Tour

The 2018 Tirreno-Adriatico NamedSport is set to be an unprecedented Race of the Two Seas, thanks to the presence of many of the greatest cycling aces on the provisional entry list, announced today. The race takes place from 7th to the 13th March, organised by RCS Sport/La Gazzetta dello Sport.

Now in its 53rd edition, the race will see 154 riders on the start line, representing 22 teams between them. Among them will be many of the best cyclists in the world, including the entire Tour de France 2017 podium and two thirds of the Giro d’Italia and Vuelta a España podiums, thanks to Chris Froome (winner of Tour and Vuelta), Tom Dumoulin (winner of the Giro), Vincenzo Nibali (third at the Giro and second at the Vuelta), Rigoberto Uran and Romain Bardet (respectively second and third at the Tour). And if this wasn’t enough, among the riders fighting for the General Classification will be Fabio Aru, Richie Porte, Mikel Landa, Miguel Angel Lopez, Adam Yates, Rohan Dennis and Geraint Thomas.

The list of stage hunters is also impressive, starting with the three (consecutive) times UCI Road World Champion Peter Sagan, his historic rivals Greg Van Avermaet and Michal Kwiatkowski, Philippe Gilbert, Diego Ulissi, Edvald Boasson Hagen and the sprinters Fernando Gaviria, Mark Cavendish, Caleb Ewan and Michael Matthews – among the many candidates for a stage win.

The provisional entry list for the 53rd Race of the Two Seas is announced today with many of the best names in cycling: Froome, Dumoulin, Nibali, Uran, Bardet, Aru, Porte, Landa, Lopez, Adam Yates, Dennis and Thomas for the GC; Sagan, Van Avermaet, Kwiatkowski, Gilbert, Ulissi, Boasson Hagen, Gaviria, Cavendish, Ewan and Matthews hunting for stages – and plenty of others.

UCI WORLDTEAMS – 18 (eligible); total of 22 teams each with 7 riders
  • AG2R LA MONDIALE – Bardet, Dillier, Geniez
  • ASTANA PRO TEAM – Lopez, Moser, Lutsenko
  • BAHRAIN – MERIDA – Nibali, Colbrelli, Pozzovivo
  • BMC RACING TEAM – Porte, Van Avermaet, Dennis
  • BORA – HANSGROHE – Sagan, Majka, Formolo
  • FDJ – Bonnet, Roux, Vaugrenard
  • LOTTO SOUDAL – Benoot, Marczynski, Debusschere
  • MITCHELTON – SCOTT – Yates, Ewan, Mezgec
  • MOVISTAR TEAM – Landa, Amador, Bennati
  • QUICK – STEP FLOORS – Gaviria, Gilbert, Jungels
  • TEAM DIMENSION DATA – Cavendish, Boasson Hagen, Meintjes
  • TEAM KATUSHA ALPECIN – Spilak, Haas, Tony Martin
  • TEAM LOTTO NL – JUMBO – Roglic, Bennett, Van Emden
  • TEAM SKY – Froome, Thomas, Kwiatkowski
  • TEAM SUNWEB – Dumoulin, Matthews, Kelderman
  • TREK – SEGAFREDO – Brambilla, Nizzolo, Stuyven
  • UAE TEAM EMIRATES – Aru, Ulissi, Ganna
UCI Professional Continental Teams – 4 wild cards
  • GAZPROM – RUSVELO – Firsanov, Foliforov, Vlasov
  • ISRAEL CYCLING ACADEMY – Boivin, Hermans, Sbaragli
  • NIPPO – VINI FANTINI – EUROPA OVINI – Cunego, Canola, Santaromita
  • WILIER TRIESTINA – SELLE ITALIA – Pozzato, Mareczko, Zardini

Follow Tirreno-Adriatico NamedSport daily via its Twitter feed delivering all the news directly from the race, by following the official Twitter account @TirrenAdriatico and using the hashtag #TirrenoAdriatico